Twenty-five 

Some nearly 9000 miles from home, I find myself on the eve of my twenty-fifth year thinking over the last twelve months of my life. This time last year, I was getting ready to start a new job, the first step on to the career ladder; I was in (what I thought was) a stable relationship and we were excitedly awaiting the arrival of my nephew.

Fast forward twelve months and I’m no longer in that relationship, nor at the career starting job, and have had my beautiful nephew in my life for over ten months. This past year has been filled with some of the most rollercoaster emotions yet, as those who know me will be aware. In around July I decided that I needed a change. I longed to get back out there on the road, to have my next adventure and see where it might take me. The answer was Australia and before I knew it, the tickets were booked. 

I’m sat here now spending my birthday in what can best be described as paradise, missing those at home but knowing the distance does not change a thing. The next part of my adventure will hopefully be heading down to rural Western Australia to do some work on a farm, picking fruit. As usual I am coasting on through without much of a plan but I have a feeling I can’t go too far wrong. I’m extremely grateful to be where I am today and every day I’m thankful for those little moments that remind me just how lucky I am. 

Here’s to the next 25 years and whatever they may bring! 

Laura x

One thought on “Twenty-five 

Leave a Reply

