A Letter to Home

As I’m about to set off on my journey to Australia with no return ticket, there’s some things I want to say to those back home. For those that know me, I’m not so great at the goodbyes so I’ve saved them for this. I’m making no apologies for the sentiments made (but be prepared for some serious mush, you’ve been fairly warned) Here goes…

First and foremost to my biggest fan, greatest support, best friend and so much more. Mum, you’ve always encouraged me to follow my dreams and have given me faith in myself to pursue them. I am so thankful that you put up with my incessant need for adventure and travel and am incredibly grateful that we have had our own little escapes this past year. I know its not easy for you and Dad to watch me go but I will always come back and with more stories, photos, experiences, and knowledge than before! Our jokes and silliness will continue every day but shopping trips, long lunches and rants over a glass of wine may have to wait! Dad, if Chelsea start messing around again I’m going to have to leave it to you to sort them out for me… I’ll have a beer or two for you when I land! I’m going to miss you both loads!

To my sister and nephew. I don’t even know where to start saying how hard it is going to be, leaving you monkeys behind! I don’t want to miss those first steps, next words, new teeth, and every other thing besides. Just remember I’m only ever a Skype away and I will be in touch often.

My wonderful dancers. You had to get a mention because Wednesday nights won’t be the same without you! Just keep on being you because you’re all brilliant… Good luck remembering all the choreography and if in doubt I suppose I wouldn’t mind the odd 1am wake up call to put you through your paces!

To the rest of my family and friends near and far, thank you to everyone who has supported me in making the leap! I genuinely couldn’t have done it without you. For all the good luck cards, words of encouragement, and well wishes I am extremely grateful and I will try my upmost to keep you up to date on my adventures.

To whoever said the hardest part of travelling was packing, you’re wrong, I’m sorry to say. It is definitely the goodbyes but luckily for me, this is just a ‘see you soon’!

See you all on the other side!

Laura x

Leave a Reply

